Research in Science Education (RISE)

RISE is one of the top four international science education research journals in the world. 

As part of your ASERA membership, you have free access to RISE online. Login using your ASERA email and password.

All volumes are available online through Springer Link

Special Issue Proposals

RISE has the ability to publish Special Issues with the maximum being one per year. It is expected that the guest editor(s) of with a potential special issue in mind will submit a proposal to the co-editors of RISE who will consult with the Editorial Board in a decision-making process.

The value and timelines of a special issue proposal will be considered against whether the issue addresses contemporary concerns in science education in an innovative and timely way. How the special issue aligns with the aims and scope of RISE needs to be explained.

The special issue proposal should include:

  • Statement of overall aims and rationale
  • Contribution to the field
  • Rationale for the selection of papers
  • Scope of topics under proposed theme
  • Logistical considerations (e.g., approach to call, timelines)
  • Appropriateness for RISE

Proposals for special issues will be accepted at any time and considered on a rolling basis. It is highly recommended to run your ideas past the editors before fully committing to the development of a proposal. They may offer additional insights and/or point out areas of potential concern.

Please see the attached document for further information and details. (document is avaiable at the bottom of this page)


History of RISE

Prior to the publication of ASERA papers, newsletters were distributed to members. The first newsletter was published in July 1970 following the first conference held in May of that year and is shown below. Similarly, the second newsletter from 1971 is also shown below.

In 1971, after the second ASERA conference, papers presented at ASERA 2 were published. The publication was titled Research 1971, and was the first of an ongoing series of annual publications of some of the papers presented at ASERA that continued until 1994. In 1972 the journal was titled Research 1972, in 1973 Science Education: Research 1973, and then in 1974 a permanent name was adopted – Research in Science Education. The 1974 edition of Research in Science Education was designated Volume 4, in recognition of the preceding three years. Over the period 1971 – 1994 the extent of reviewing of submissions for RISE increased substantially. In 1995, through Cam McRobbie’s initiative and drive, RISE was transformed into the journal of more usual form that we know today, and was no longer linked to the ASERA conference. In 2003 RISE became an ISI listed journal, and thus joined JRST (Journal of Research in Science Teaching), Science Education, and IJSE (International Journal of Science Education) as the major international science education research journals.

For the period 1974 – 1979 RISE had an editorship structure involving both the conference organizer(s) and a ‘general editor’ who maintained consistencies from one year to the next.


The full list of RISE editors is:
1971-1973   Richard Tisher (University Queensland)
1974      Richard Tisher, Russell Linke & Leo West (Monash University)
1975      Colin Power (University Queensland) & Arthur Lucas (Flinders University)
1976      Colin Power (University Queensland) & Max Maddock (University Newcastle)
1977      Colin Power (Flinders University) & Tony Blake (Riverina CAE)
1978      Colin Power (Flinders University) & Cam McRobbie (Mt Gravatt CAE)
1979      Colin Power (Flinders University) & Dennis Goodrum (Churchlands CAE)
1980      Colin Power (Flinders University)
1981-1982     Laurie Rattray-Wood & Peter Ferguson (Deakin University)
1983-1988     Richard Tisher (Monash University)
1989      Richard Tisher & Paul Gardner (Monash University)
1990      Paul Gardner (Monash University)
1991      Paul Gardner, Helen Forgasz & Jeff Northfield (Monash University)
1992-1994     Paul Gardner (Monash University)
1995-2007     Cam McRobbie (Queensland University of Technology)
2008-2012     Steve Ritchie (Queensland University of Technology)
2013-2015     Deborah Corrigan - Monash University - Editor 
2016     Deborah Corrigan & David Geelan- Co-Editors 
2017-2018    David Geelan & Donna King - Co-Editors