Executive Board

Peter Aubusson 

Peter Aubusson is Professor of Education at the University of Technology Sydney where he specialises in science education.  He has researched science education and teacher learning and development for over fifteen years. 

As Managing Director and President, Peter oversees the work of ASERA and reports on its performance and activities to the membership. Peter’s aim is to ensure that ASERA promotes science education research and that ASERA is a vibrant organisation that serves the needs of its members.

Leah Moore

Leah Moore is an Associate Professor at the University of Canberra. She teaches and researchers earth and environmental science with a science education speciality. Leah conducts research in: science curriculum analysis, science teacher PCK development, innovative use of available technologies in teaching, and post-colonial science education.

Leah is Vice President of ASERA.


Ange Fitzgerald 

Ange Fitzgerald is a senior lecturer at Monash University. Her main focus is engaging in activities that support pre- and in-service teachers in developing their confidence and competence in the learning and teaching of science in primary school settings.

Ange is the Secretary/Treasurer for ASERA and is responsible for overseeing the administrative and financial functions of the organisation. In doing this, she supports the other Directors achieve their goals for the membership.


Deb Corrigan 

Deborah Corrigan is a Professor in Science Education at Monash University. She has been a member of ASERA since 1991 and has held a number of position on the ASERA Board including Secretary/Treasurer and is the past editor of Research in Science Education.

Her current role focuses on Science Education Policy. She highlights two key focus areas for ASERA;  ACARA and the Australian Curriculum and the TEMAG report and changes to Initial Teacher Education. 


David Treagust

David Treagust is Professor of Science Education at Curtin University. His research interests involve:

  1. the theoretical developments of conceptual change,
  2. the use of analogies, models in engendering conceptual change,
  3. diagnostic and formative assessment in science, and
  4. the use of multiple representations in teaching and learning science.

As past Managing Director/President (2003-2010), David’s role on the Board includes general advice based on my corporate memory of ASERA and liaison with international groups like NARST.

Kathryn Paige

Kathy Paige is a senior lecturer in science and mathematics education at the University of South Australia. Her research interests include pre-service science and mathematics education for primary and middle students, education for sustainability (EfS) and place-based education.  
Kathy’s role on the ASERA Board is to focus on Emerging Research Support.


Rebecca Cooper

Rebecca Cooper is a lecturer in Science Education at Monash University. She works predominantly with preservice and inservice science teachers and her research interests include; pedagogical knowledge and pedagogical content knowledge development, improving the quality of science teaching to increase student engagement and working with teachers on promoting values in their science teaching.

Rebecca is the Early Career Researcher (ECR) representative on the ASERA board. If you are an ECR and would like to know more about ASERA or have some ideas about ways that the association could better support you then please get in touch with Rebecca. 


David Geelan

David Geelan is Deputy Head of School (Learning and Teaching) and an Associate Professor in the School of Education and Professional Studies, Griffith University.
David is co-Editor in Chief of ASERA's journal, Research In Science Education (RISE), a top-5 science education research journal internationally. With co-Editor in Chief, Donna King, he leads a team of Associate Editors and Assistant Editors, and leads and maintains the Editorial Board and approximately 400 reviewers.


Alister Jones

Alister Jones is Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Waikato University. His main areas of research are

curriculum, teaching, learning and assessment, particularly in science and technology education. He is Director of the New Zealand Science and Biotechnology Learning Hubs and co-chairs an APEC working group on science and mathematics education.

Alister's role on the ASERA board is to focus on policy. 







Gillian Kidman

Gillian Kidman is an Associate Professor of Science Education at Monash University. She hasresearch and teaching interests in the sciences and is particularly interested in inquiry-based practices and the potential inquiry has for the integration of science with other disciplines. Gillian's work in the area of disciplinarity and inquiry-based practices with teachers is providing a fertile ground for the exploration of Inquiry inquiry-based practices and skill acquisition. Her research, teaching and curriculum design is award winning at both the State and National levels, and she was a Writer and Senior Advisor of the Australian Curriculum: Science, and Australian Curriculum: Biology. 

Gillian's role on the ASERA board is to oversea the ASERA website.


Christine McDonald

Christine McDonald is a Senior Lecturer in Science Education at Griffith University. She is an

Associate Editor of ASERA’s journal, Research in Science Education (RISE), and has been a member of ASERA since presenting at her first conference in 2001.

Christine’s role on the ASERA Board is to assist membership with Conference support - a pivotal role, supporting  one of ASERA’s major activities.