Executive Board

David Geelan

David Geelan is Deputy Head of School (Academic) and an Associate Professor in the School of Education and Professional Studies, Griffith University. 

As Managing Director and President, David oversees the work of ASERA and reports on its performance and activities to the membership. David’s aim is to ensure that ASERA promotes science education research and that ASERA is a vibrant organisation that serves the needs of its members.

Leah Moore

Leah Moore is an Associate Professor at the University of Canberra. She teaches and researchers earth and environmental science with a science education speciality. Leah conducts research in: science curriculum analysis, science teacher PCK development, innovative use of available technologies in teaching, and post-colonial science education.

Leah is the regional representative for Australia/Pacific at ICASE.

Ange Fitzgerald

Ange Fitzgerald is an Associate Professor (Science Curriculum and Pedagogy) at University of South Queensland. Her main focus is engaging in activities that support pre- and in-service teachers in developing their confidence and competence in the learning and teaching of science in primary school settings.

Ange is the Secretary/Treasurer for ASERA and is responsible for overseeing the administrative and financial functions of the organisation. In doing this, she supports the other Directors achieve their goals for the membership. Ange is also the co-editor in chief for Research In Science Education (RISE).

David Treagust

David Treagust is Professor of Science Education at Curtin University. His research interests involve:

  1. the theoretical developments of conceptual        change,
  2. the use of analogies, models in engendering        conceptual change,
  3. diagnostic and formative assessment in               science, and
  4. the use of multiple representations in                     teaching and learning science.

As past Managing Director/President (2003-2010), David’s role on the Board includes general advice based on my corporate memory of ASERA and liaison with international groups like NARST.

Pauline Roberts

Pauline Roberts is a Lecturer in Early Childhood Studies at Edith Cowan University (ECU) in Perth, WA. She has taught across the education sector in Early Childhood and Primary and Tertiary settings in a range of curriculum and content areas. Pauline’s doctoral research centred on the use of an ePortfolio to scaffold reflection in pre-service teachers which remains an ongoing area of interest and research. In her current role at ECU Pauline has undertaken teaching in the Science content area for Early Childhood with the goal of developing play-based approaches to the development of science skills and concepts in young children.

Kim Nichols

Kim Nichols is Director of Research and Associate Professor of Science Education within the School of Education at The University of Queensland.

As Co-Editor-in-Chief of RISE, Kim is a co-opted member of the ASERA Board representing RISE and ensuring the membership are informed about the journal’s activities and profile.

Peter Aubusson

Peter Aubusson is Professor of Education at the University of Technology Sydney where he specialises in science education.  He has researched science education and teacher learning and development for over fifteen years.

Peter is on the ASERA board as the immediate past Managing Director/President of ASERA.

Rebecca Cooper

Bec is a Senior Lecturer at Monash University. Her research interests include development of teachers’ knowledge and expertise for science teaching and learning. In particular, her research focuses on how knowledge can be developed at different stages of teachers’ career and how this influences teaching practice and student learning outcomes in science education. 

Bec is a general member on the ASERA Board.

Jan van Driel

Jan van Driel is a professor of science education at Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne. He is also co-editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Science Education. His research focuses on science teacher knowledge and professional learning in the context of pre-service teacher education and educational innovation. As a former schoolteacher, he holds the view that an educational researcher should be engaged in issues of practice and policy. Therefore, most of his research is done in close collaboration with schools and teachers, and he publishes regularly in professional journals and gives lectures and workshops at conferences for teachers. Jan is passionate about working with HDR students and is keen for ASERA to support HDR students.

Jan is a general member of the ASERA Board.

Kathy Paige

Kathryn Paige is currently the Higher Degrees Coordinator and senior lecturer in science and mathematics education at the University of South Australia. She was an ASERA Board member between 2014 and 2019. Kathryn’s research interests include pre-service science and mathematics education, eco justice, place-based education and culturally responsive pedagogy.

Kathy is the conference convenor for ASERA 52 (2021) which will be held in June, Adelaide, SA.

Read All News

ASERA Annual Conference

Already a Member?

Scroll to Top