ASERA’s major publication series is the journal RISE (Research in Science Education), one of the top four science education journals in the world.

As part of your ASERA membership, you have FREE access to RISE online. Log in to your ASERA account and then in the Members Area menu select 'Members Only'. On that page click the large green button labelled 'RISE Access'.

RISE Special Issues and Topical Collections

Special Issue Proposals

RISE has the ability to publish one Special Issue each year. It is expected that the guest editor(s) with a potential special issue in mind will submit a proposal to the co-editors of RISE, who will consult with the Editorial Board in the decision-making process.

The value and timeliness of a special issue proposal will be considered against whether the issue addresses contemporary concerns in science education in an innovative way. Proposers should clearly explain the how the proposed Special Issue fits with the Aims and Scope of RISE.

The special issue proposal should include:

  • Statement of overall aims and rationale
  • Contribution to the field
  • Rationale for the selection of papers
  • Scope of topics under proposed theme
  • Logistical considerations (e.g., approach to call, timelines)
  • Appropriateness for RISE

Proposals for special issues will be accepted at any time and considered on a rolling basis. It is highly recommended that you informally run your ideas past the editors before fully committing to the development of a proposal. They may offer additional insights and/or point out areas of potential concern.

Please see the attached document for further information and details (document is available at the bottom of this page)

RISE Topical Collections

Research in Science Education (RISE) is pleased to announce the introduction of topical collections to complement the ongoing publication of papers through regular and special issues. A topical collection curates papers on a given topic, theme or problem. The articles in a topical collection are published continuously over several issues, making them different from special issues that are time-bounded and assigned to one issue. Articles selected for a topical collection will appear in that collection. At the same time, they will still be published in a regular issue.

Topical collections represent a chance for editors to gather related papers on a topic of contemporary interest to the RISE readership and the wider science education research community. As such, we are interested to develop collections that both consolidate a series of thematically-related papers previously published in RISE and encourage future developments in the field. This approach allows us to connect the rich historical conversation in RISE with contemporary issues that matter to the science education community.

With this objective, RISE has launched two inaugural topical collections on “Artificial Intelligence in Science Education” and “STEM and teaching engineering design”. Interested authors are encouraged to explore these collections and contribute new articles that build upon the ongoing work within the collection. To read more of these collections, please click here.

Authors wishing to submit their manuscripts to a topical collection can indicate their intention via the Editorial Manager submission system. All submissions to a topical collection will undergo the same peer review process and standards. The Editors-in-Chief have the final discretions to choose and include articles in any collection.

Furthermore, RISE welcomes proposals for new topical collections that meet the following criteria:

1.    Relevance to RISE: The topic should have a solid foundation within RISE, as evidenced by a substantial number of previously published articles in RISE. These articles will be curated to form the initial core of the collection.

2.    Timeliness: The topic should focus on current and urgent issues in science education, demonstrating a strong potential to draw future contributions to the collection.

Researchers interested in editing a topical collection are encouraged to contact the Editors-in-Chief.

History of RISE

Prior to the publication of ASERA papers, newsletters were distributed to members. The first newsletter was published in July 1970 following the first conference held in May of that year and is shown below. Similarly, the second newsletter from 1971 is also shown below.

In 1971, after the second ASERA conference, papers presented at ASERA 2 were published. The publication was titled Research 1971, and was the first of an ongoing series of annual publications of some of the papers presented at ASERA that continued until 1994. In 1972 the journal was titled Research 1972, in 1973 Science Education: Research 1973, and then in 1974 a permanent name was adopted – Research in Science Education. The 1974 edition of Research in Science Education was designated Volume 4, in recognition of the preceding three years.

For the period 1974 – 1979 RISE had an editorship structure involving both the conference organizer(s) and a ‘general editor’ who maintained consistencies from one year to the next.

In 1995, through Professor Cam McRobbie’s initiative and drive, RISE was transformed into the journal of more usual form that we know today, and was no longer linked to the ASERA conference. In 2003 RISE became the 4th Science Education research journal to be ISI listed journal, and thus joined Journal of Research in Science Teaching, Science Education, and International Journal of Science Education as one of the major international science education research journals.

All volumes of RISE are available on Springer Link, including Volumes 1-24 (1971-1994) that were published by ASERA itself and not by Springer. The contents by volume of RISE (1971-1994) is below.

The link to the RISE website can be found here: https://www.springer.com/journal/11165

ASERA members have access to RISE included with their membership. To access RISE as an ASERA member, log in to your ASERA account and then in the Members Area menu select 'Members Only'. On that page click the large green button labelled 'RISE Access'.

Full List of RISE Editors




Richard Tisher (University Queensland)


Richard Tisher, Russell Linke & Leo West (Monash University)


Colin Power (University Queensland) & Arthur Lucas (Flinders University)


Colin Power (University Queensland) & Max Maddock (University Newcastle)


Colin Power (Flinders University) & Tony Blake (Riverina CAE)


Colin Power (Flinders University) & Cam McRobbie (Mt Gravatt CAE)


Colin Power (Flinders University) & Dennis Goodrum (Churchlands CAE)


Colin Power (Flinders University)


Laurie Rattray-Wood & Peter Ferguson (Deakin University)


Richard Tisher (Monash University)


Richard Tisher & Paul Gardner (Monash University)


Paul Gardner (Monash University)


Paul Gardner, Helen Forgasz & Jeff Northfield (Monash University)


Paul Gardner (Monash University)


Cam McRobbie (Queensland University of Technology)


Steve Ritchie (Queensland University of Technology)


Deborah Corrigan (Monash University)


Deborah Corrigan (Monash University) & David Geelan (Griffith University)


David Geelan (Griffith University) & Donna King (Queensland University of Technology)


Donna King (Queensland University of Technology) & Angela Fitzgerald (University of Southern Queensland)


Angela Fitzgerald (University of Southern Queensland) & Kim Nichols (The University of Queensland)


Kim Nichols (The University of Queensland) & Wendy Nielsen (The University of Wollongong)


Wendy Nielsen (The University of Wollongong) & Kok-Sing Tang (Curtin University)

Related content

Scroll to Top