2021 National Summit on Teaching Out-of-field


You are invited to attend the online 2021 National Summit on Teaching Out-of-field (‘TOOF’) online 21-23 October 2021, at which invited presenters will offer views through different lenses on the TOOF phenomenon. TOOF generally refers to when teachers teach subjects or year-levels they are not qualified to teach, and is an integral part of our education communities and systems. The multilayered implications of TOOF are the focus of the National Summit presentations and discussions. Key themes include:

  • Data needed to inform policy
  • School management & leadership 
  • Initial teacher education
  • Teacher registration and accreditation policies
  • Teacher professional learning

We hope that you can join and be part of these conversations with national and international stakeholders, industry partners and colleagues *free of charge*. Intended outcomes of the Summit are clear recommendations for policy, practice and research in relation to these themes. 

Please see the Summit website for detailed information regarding the themes and sessions, and to register your attendance: https://ooftas-collective.org/toofsummit

 For any queries, please contact Summit Co-chairs:
Associate Professor Linda Hobbs, l.hobbs@deakin.edu.au 
Dr Anna Du Plessis, a.duplessis@griffith.edu.au    

 Registration closes: October 1, 2021 (free of charge)

 Summit dates:

  • Thursday 21 October:     9:15am to 4:30pm AEST
  • Friday 22 October:           9:30am to 4:30pm AEST
  • Saturday 23 October:     9:30am to 12:30pm AEST
Organising committee
Linda Hobbs, Deakin University, Victoria
Anna Du Plessis, Griffith University, Queensland
Helen Watt, The University of Sydney, New South Wales  
Emily Elizabeth Rochette, University of Melbourne, Victoria
Michael O'Connor, Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute, Victoria
Paul Weldon, Australian Council for Educational Research, Victoria
Paul Richardson, Monash University, Victoria
Susan Caldis, Macquarie University, New South Wales
Colleen Vale, Monash University, Victoria
Claudette Bateup, Australian Capital Territory
Lucinda McKnight, Deakin University, Victoria
Greg Oates, University of Tasmania, Tasmania
Linda Galligan, University of Southern Queensland, Queensland

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top